Having trouble seeing this newsletter? Read it online.

University of Pittsburgh PITT HomeFind PeopleContact Us

Pitt's DeArdo Wins 2010 AIST Award

Anthony J. DeArdo, William Kepler Whiteford Professor in the University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, and Director of the Basic Metals Processing Research Institute (BAMPRI), has been named recipient of the 2010 Benjamin F. Fairless Award from the Association for Iron and Steel Technology (AIST).

Established in 1954, the award honors Benjamin F. Fairless, chairman of the board of the U.S. Steel Corp., and is today awarded to individuals who have made distinguished contributions to the field of iron and steel making and ferrous metallurgy. 

Anthony DeArdo's distinguished career includes 35 years in teaching and research in the area of structural materials composition, especially engineering alloys such as microalloyed steels and stainless steels. He is both founder and director of Pitt's BAMPRI, which hosts and participates in international research conferences annually. DeArdo is an elected Fellow of the Institute of Materials, London, and Fellow of ASM International. He is also a member of the American Institute of Steel Technology, the Iron and Steel Society of AIME, and the Metallurgical Society of AIME. To read his full curriculum vitae, please click here.


March 1, 2010

Know anyone who might be interested in reading our E-Update? Forward this to as many as five friends at a time.

Forward to a Friend

Hdr Contact

Minking K. Chyu, PhD
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

Swanson School of Engineering
104 Benedum Hall
3700 O'Hara St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15261

If you no longer wish to receive these emails you may instantly unsubscribe.